Threat Level: green Handler on Duty: Didier Stevens

SANS ISC: New to Internet Security: Need advice - Internet Security | DShield SANS ISC InfoSec Forums

New to Internet Security: Need advice
Hi there, I work as an programming director for a marketing company. My focus is back-end development for web applications. I'm interested in increasing my knowledge of internet and web app security. My knowledge is hands on experience only. Right now I'm the go-to person on staff, but many of our clients are in the financial sector and usually do audits of our IT policies and coding practices. Sometimes they ask if we have certifications on security which we do not.

Trying to find out.

1) Some good resources for training either online. Recommended courses. I was looking at the online SANS ones... are they any good? They are expensive so just wanted to be sure.

2) 1-2 basic certifications we could get. Any after completing training?

3) Some good scanner programs out there for web applications (pen testing). I'm aware of and have used acunetix. Was wondering if there are any better tools out there.

4) Any advice to increase my knowledgebase.

Thanks,
Brian
bb2j

2 Posts
Are you looking for offensive or defensive security?
SANS provides good trainings oriented to web security with different skill levels. Once you attended a training, you can pass the corresponding GIAC exam to become certified.
The OWASP project is also a good sources of information.

About tools, there are commercial and free ones. It's up to you to select the one which fits your requirements (technical vs features vs price). The ISC will be recommend you a specific solution. Usually, pentesters are also building their own toolbox.

The best advice I can give is to read and learn as much as possible!
Xme

478 Posts
ISC Handler
Quoting Xme:Are you looking for offensive or defensive security?